Thoughts on SF…so far…

August 20, 2013 at 3:15 am (Discovering myself by discovering the world, My life, and how I live it, Uncategorized) (, , , , )

20130820-014708.jpg

See that photo above? It was taken this past weekend on a rare occasion when the sun came out and the skies were clear. I sat with my husband and baby outside the Ferry Building enjoying a cup of Blue Bottle Coffee and marveling, “I’m so happy today cause the weather is nice!”

That nice weather lasted about half an hour before gloom and doom set in and I started hating the city again.

The city aforementioned, is San Francisco, one of the best cities in the U.S., they said. You are soooo gonna love it there, they said.

I’ve been here for a month and I say, F*ck you guys and f*ck this city.

I’ve lived in a big city. I’m not culture-shocked by the hustle and bustle. I’m not daunted by the dirty streets and diversity of the people. But what I’ve seen of this city so far? It’s on a whole new level.

Now granted, I haven’t been here long enough or know the city well enough to make a “fair” judgement, but here are my observations so far:

1. This city stinks. As in SMELLS FOUL. As in, every big city smells like urine at certain places, but in the contest of which big city I’ve been to in the world that smells the worst? SF gets the gold medal.

2. This city is cold. And gloomy. And depressing. And did I mention cold? “You’re from New York! You know cold!” Um, East Coast may get harsh looooong winters, but in the summer, it is SUMMER. And though I love layering and blazers and scarves and boots…not in August people. Not in August.

3. Who’s brilliant idea was it to install carpets on a pubic transit train? Also, who’s brilliant idea was it to build elevators to and from train platforms OUTSIDE the turnstile? I’m either getting a free ride, or stuck inside the BART station forever.

4. This city has some amazing sights, undeniably. But it’s cold. And foggy. So the sights are very now-you-see-me, now-you-don’t. And that ruins everything.

If you are from SF, or have/had lived here for awhile, will you please share its secrets of why people rave about it with me? I am desperately trying to find the magic that so many others see. I am desperately trying to love this city too.

Leave a Reply

