Mumsnet?

August 20, 2013 at 2:50 am (Dragon Baby, My 2 cents on nothing important, My life, and how I live it) (, , , , , , )

So I just noticed that my blog was linked to this site: http://www.mumsnet.com/Talk/_chat/a1828126-Rules-for-dating-my-son

and my last post on Rules for dating my son got quite some feedback by…get this…anonymous people!

While I am deeply flattered that anything I post would garner any attention (only popular blogs get negative responses!!), I would like to clarify a few things:

1. I didn’t write this list. I saw it on Pinterest and found it sarcastic and funny and fit my type of inner humor. If you don’t find it funny, that’s fine…everyone is entitled to their own opinions, and their own way of raising their children. No judgement here. Except you. I judge you. And you. And yes, definitely you.

2. My son is not named Dragon. He was born in the year of the Dragon, and I, as an Asian woman, referred to him as Dragon Baby when I was pregnant, cause we didn’t have an actual name for him til he was born. My goly, boys’ names are hard! Rest assured littlewhitebag, he is not an actual fire-breathing reptile (thank god, that would have been a painful L &D), there is nothing to be skeptical about…

3. Am I overprotective? Probably. Will I care about the types of people he will eventually hang out with? Most likely. Will he rebel and hang out with whoever the f*ck he wants to when he grows up? Absolutely. This list? All in fun. I am not so disillusioned that I think I will be able to control a grown man. But right now, he’s my 10 month old baby and he’ll do as I say 🙂

4. “A girl in the big city, searching for her place, her heart, and ultimately, her destiny.” That was written 5 years ago when I started this blog. I WAS a girl in a big city, lost and desperately searching for something solid, something “good.” If that sounds like a cliche, it’s because it is. EVERY girl I knew was the same way, and my journey wasn’t anything special. But my journey is mine, and though I don’t live in New York anymore, I will always be searching for my place, with or without a husband, with or without a baby, and with or without you negative nellies.

5. Mumsnet? Mum’s Net implies it’s a site where mom’s go and network and support other moms. Being a mom can sometimes feel like a lonely and isolating job, so I guess if by banning together with strangers to bash on something another stranger posted, it can bring you a sense of “belonging,” then by all means. Good luck with your own children.

Leave a Reply

