An inspiration – Kate Morton

November 9, 2012 at 2:19 pm (Currently reading..., My life, and how I live it, Recent Obsessions) (, , , , , , , , )

A couple of years ago, I randomly picked up The House at Riverton by Kate Morton. The title attracted me first, and as I had anticipated, it was indeed a story about family secrets,  old houses, the help vs the wealth, and mystery mystery mystery, everything that I was fascinated with.

I knew little about the author, nor did I really care, but I knew she churned out book after riveting book, and any book that was associated with the name “Kate Morton” jumped to the top of my reading list as soon as they hit the bookstores.

A few months ago, in the email updates of books “Coming Soon” that I receive from Barnes and Noble, I was excited to see that a new book was coming out soon: The Secret Keeper.

Then coincidentally, at the end of August, I attended a book event at the country’s oldest family owned and operated bookstore, Warwick’s. It combines all the elements I love about bookstores: books, stationery, unique gifts, and it’s not a chain (yay!), so I thought the friendly book sellers there would be a good source to recommend new books. And…that night,  I found out that Kate Morton would be visiting Warwick’s on her U.S. book tour, the only stop she’ll be making in San Diego! Woohoo!

I immediately RSVP’d, not caring that I’d be about 4 weeks post-partum, and announced to The Honey that he’d be on Daddy Duty by himself for the first time that night.

When I first arrived at Warwick’s, I was excited that I had RSVP’d early enough to be in the front row, but I was antsy, and all I could think about was Dragon and how The Honey was handling him. ‘This is how it’s always gonna be, isn’t it,’ I thought. ‘Even going out sans baby, I will never be fully present again.’

Well, I was wrong. Kate Morton (aside from being gorgeous) captivated me in her talk. She was funny, charming (Australian accents always are!), motivating, friendly, and most importantly, she was an incredible inspiration. She spoke about what got her into writing, where she gets her ideas, and how she does her research. Remember when I wrote about “writing what you know?” Morton said what was more important is “writing what you love,” and that makes so…much…sense. She says writing a book is like putting on a theatrical production, except you get to be everything, the director, all the actors, the set designer, costume designer, everything. Now isn’t that putting things in a new perspective?

What really hit home for me though, is the fact that she has 2 young boys, which in her words is like having 4 children. How she is able to juggle parenthood and being disciplined enough to keep at writing is really inspiring for me. Working from home, I think, is more difficult than having a full-time office job, because it is so easy to make excuses for going off schedule. I know I do. Oh, I’m tired, the baby needs me, there’s housework to do, the TV is so inviting, maybe I’ll just surf the internet some more, etc etc.

Through Morton, I realize now’s the best time for me to focus on writing. I don’t have a 9-5 job, Dragon’s not awake 24-7, and housework? Well, that can wait. Time to stop making excuses, put the Real Housewives of Whatever on the back burner, and start figuring out “what I love.” Even if I never become an author, it would be nice to have a record of this magical time in my life.

But first, I need to hunker down, and open up the very anticipated The Secret Keeper. I will let you know how I like it. I’m sure I will 🙂

Leave a Reply

