George’s At The Cove

September 25, 2012 at 11:20 pm (My life, and how I live it, Recent Obsessions) (, , , , )

My mother-in-law has been staying with us for the past week as we wait for Dragon Baby to make his big debut into this world. Over the weekend, she took The Honey’s cousin and I out to brunch at George’s at the Cove, kinda like a this-may-be-your-last-meal-out-for-awhile deal. I’ve heard of this restaurant, known for their amazing view over-looking La Jolla Cove, but have yet to try it, thinking the price point may be just as “impressive” as the view.

I was wrong. If you choose to dine in the Ocean Terrace, the menu prices are very reasonably priced, and true to its reputation, the views are unbeatable. The service was also impeccable. We were seated at a table directly in the sun, and when another table opened up, they were really accommodating and gave us the new table. Our original server still came to wait on us, and nobody made a fuss about him having to take over a table in someone else’s section. Also, in my attempt to bring on natural labor, I added so much Tabasco sauce that I needed water constantly. I mean, my water glass needed a refill every 2 minutes, and it was.

I’m definitely looking forward to going back, maybe with a group of girlfriends next time, to sip a cocktail and spend an afternoon in the sun. Or maybe I’ll suggest it as a date night location when The Honey and I are ready to venture out alone again after Baby gets here. Or it could be a place to take out-of-towners we’d like to impress.

In other words, George’s at the Cove has skyrocketed to my favorite restaurant near my new home.

My cousin-in-law and I shared the amazing Cuban sandwich and the equally tasty Blackened Seasonal Fish sandwich.

Leave a Reply

