Space.

July 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm (My 2 cents on nothing important) (, , , , , , , )

The Honey’s parents are visiting this weekend and they usually stay at hotels out in Jersey to save on outrageous hotel expenses in the city. Tonight, they wanted to celebrate an early birthday for The Honey at a restaurant they frequent whenever in NJ, so they got us a separate room at their hotel instead of having to drive us back to the city after dinner.

I didn’t really know what to expect, because when I think “cheap hotel,” I think Holiday Inn or The Ramada etc. So when I rolled into the room and saw this…I immediately felt a calm roll over me.

20110723-053309.jpg

It’s nothing too crazy, but the bright, spacious, uncluttered room feels like a mini-vacation away from our small, cramped, and stuffy (it’s been in the high 90s in NY all week) Manhattan apt.

The Honey is napping right now as the ‘rents work out in the fitness center, and I sit in the lounge/reading room, typing this post and enjoying some “me” time with Tina Fey’s “Bossypants.”

I like this. I feel peaceful and serene, and I have a slight urge to cry…kinda like the feeling I get in a difficult pose at Bikram. I’m not entirely sure what to make of my next thought yet, but I’m coming to the shocking realization that I need space. Lots more space than any Manhattan apt can offer a me on my budget.

Maybe The Honey is right. Maybe big city living is finally slowly wearing out its welcome. Maybe I’m ready for the suburbs and a higher quality of life? Maybe? I don’t know…I don’t know…

Leave a Reply

