Manhattan at Bentley Hotel

May 11, 2011 at 1:09 am (My 2 cents on nothing important, Sharing is Caring) (, , , , , , , )

My friend M and I, on our quest to try out as many new places in the city as our wallets will allow this summer, decided we’d check out the Bentley Hotel Rooftop on this fine, sunny evening. We were introduced to this place through TravelZoo’s $39 for 4 drinks and 2 appetizers deal (originally retailing at $102), and were brought to a hip boutique hotel on the Upper East Side at 62nd St. and York. Sitting 21 floors up into the Manhattan skyline, Frommer’s calls it one of NYC’s best hotel bar terraces.

BUT…let me first start with the cons.

The service was incredibly slow and unpleasant. I had the Pineapple Express, which consists of Don Julio Tequila, vanilla liqueur and pineapple juice, sounding summer-y and refreshing, was actually so bleh I couldn’t finish it. The food (we ordered the coconut shrimp and the chicken fingers) was mediocre at best. Though the lobby of the hotel was very chic, the interior of the rooftop itself felt old and worn out…the leather on our bar stools were actually peeling off. For $102, this place would have been a rip off.

But for $20 each, it was amazing, not only because the sun was shining in through the floor to ceiling windows, kissing my vitamin D deprived shoulders, but more importantly, as it got darker, we got a view of this:

and this:

Would I go back? Probably not. But I’ll always remember it was at the Bentley Hotel where I experienced the first hint of warmth this year, and was reminded, after a long harsh winter: I still love this city.

Leave a Reply

