Save as Draft (SaD)

April 16, 2011 at 11:24 pm (Currently reading...) (, , , , )

I belong to a book club focusing especially on chick lit, which I’ve only been to once. I love chick lit and really depend on it to unwind once in a while after serious reads or funny memoirs, but after attending that one time, I found the club to consist mostly of near middle-aged women complaining about their non-existent love lives and dating horror stories. Now trust me, I’ve had my 20+ years stretch of non-existent love life and plenty of dating horror stories, but I don’t know, venting to strangers just seems sorta…sad? I wanted to join a book club where we actually talked about the book over some good cocktails, not some support group for the emotionally battered strangers who pound back $3 PBRs. Think Sex and the City, without any of the glamour.

So I stopped going, but kept on their mailing list because in all honesty, they do pick some pretty good books, and I can never say no to a good recommendation!

I had just finished reading The Countess by Rebecca Johns, and I needed a breather from the dark and suffocating story of “The Blood Countess” Erzsebet Bathory (great book, btw and the 2009 movie is now in my Netflix queue),  so I turned to the book club for my next choice.

That’s why I picked up Save as Draft by Cavanaugh Lee, new author in the chick lit scene.  Written entirely in email exchanges, tweets and Facebook updates, I thought it may be confusing and tedious, but would be a quick break before I continue with the next dark book (Room, by Emma Donaghue).

Confusing and tedious it was not, instead fun (I laughed out loud once or twice), quick (I finished it in 2 sittings, which never happens), and at times really…emotionally…heart-wrenching.

Page 241, email from Dad to Izabell. “He dims your sparkle.” 

I burst into tears. No joke. In the middle of the break room in my office during lunch. Hit a nerve, I guess.

I’m not gonna spoil it for everyone by saying too much, but it didn’t end as I expected. In fact, I think it had the perfect ending. The acknowledgement section in the back of  the book (also written in email form) made me realize that the author seemed to have written from her own experiences, thanking “Peter” and “Martin,” and that made the story that much more real, that much more genuine. I recommend!

6 Comments

  1. Cavanaugh Lee said,

    Well I’m perfectly delighted to discover that you and your book club read my book. I’m even more delighted that you enjoyed it and truly seemed to “get” it. The ending has been love or hate with readers – but it’s actually my favorite part of the book. 🙂 Thanks for reading AND for spreading the word! xoxox Cavanaugh

    • rosesandwaterfalls said,

      I love it when author’s reply to my “Currently reading…” posts! Makes me a little shy that my comments could actually mean something to someone, but also makes me feel the author cares about what “the mass” thinks. I can’t wait for your next book!

  2. Aimee said,

    Absolutely agree with what you wrote! I loved it too and even if the ending was not what was expected, it did end perfect! Also, that email from Dad to Izabell definitely had me tearing up a little too. Can’t wait to read her next book, when she’s done with it!

    • rosesandwaterfalls said,

      Yay 🙂 Glad you agree with my post. I’m looking forward to the next book too!

  3. TLB said,

    Well, then, here’s one more author thanking you for your kind comments about The Countess. So glad you enjoyed it (and yes I agree it is suffocating). BTW, the movie and the book are unrelated; the title similarity is a coincidence. I’ve never seen it and would love to know how it is, since I adore Julie Delpy,

    I’m glad I’m not the only author trolling the interwebs for reviews ;-).

    Thanks again,
    Rebecca Johns

    • rosesandwaterfalls said,

      Thanks for responding! I can only imagine how much research it took to write that book. A coworker of mine flipped through the book because it was sitting on my desk and said, “Oh, this is about the Blood Countess…” I only realized then that she was an actual historical person. Any more books coming out?

Leave a Reply

