My very own fairy tale…

March 25, 2011 at 2:10 am (Discovering myself by discovering the world) (, , , , , , , )

I got engaged last week! And it was right out of a fairy tale, in the most romantic city in the world.

I had been to Paris once when I was doing an intern abroad program in London during grad school. Maybe because I went alone and had no one to distract me from experiencing all the sights, sounds, smells, and tastes that Paris had to offer, I fell madly, deeply in love with the city, the architecture, the history, the fashion, the sophisticated aloofness of the Parisians mixed in with the oldness of the city. I breathed in that air and became addicted.

One night, as I scribbled away in my journal beneath the twinkling lights of the Eiffel Tower, I thought to myself, “One day, I’m going to come back with a lover.”

That day turned out to be last Monday.

The Honey had been planning a Europe trip for months, at first intending it to be a surprise, but later realizing my tendency to micromanage made it impossible to keep a secret. So we mapped out our destinations together, first stops Bruge and Ghent in Belgium, then onto Paris, finally the chateaus of Loire Valley for the last leg of our trip.

And it was in Paris on the Pont de Bir-Hakeim with perfect, unobstructed views of the Eiffel Tower at sunset, where The Honey gave a touching speech, got down on one knee, presented me with the most beautiful ring that he designed, and asked me to marry him. To top off the already magical proposal, he had secretly hired a French photographer to capture the moment, a moment that could never have been recreated a second time.

We popped open the champagne that The Honey had previously asked the photographer to prepare, and toasted our future together, right over the Siene, right when the Eiffel Tower lit up, right when I thought I could not be happier. I got engaged in the most perfect city, under the most perfect circumstances, to the most perfect man. Never thought this would happen to me, but on March 15, I became a fiancee.

* BF will now be referred to as The Honey as he will never be my boyfriend again.

1 Comment

  1. Midweek Link Love | Roses and Waterfalls said,

    […] I did so alone, and it was incredible. I’ve been back since, and it was great in other ways (engaged!) but this New York Times article and particularly the following passage, really resonated with […]

Leave a Reply

