I said it first…(I think)

November 21, 2010 at 5:28 pm (My 2 cents on nothing important, Recent Obsessions) (, , , , , , , )

Most little girls’ (and quite a few grown up girls’) dream is to marry a prince, become a princess, and live happily ever after. (Thank you, Disney) Well, I was no different, only “Prince Charming” was too abstract for me. I had a more specific target –> Princess Diana, and in order to become a princess just like her, I had to marry Prince William.

I’ve been fascinated by the British Monarchy ever since I still had my baby teeth. I know all sorts of random facts about the royal family past and present (quiz me), I read historical fiction as if it were my own family tree, I’ve visited every castle in the UK recreating the past with my footsteps, and I was so devastated by Princess Di’s death that I couldn’t get out of bed for days, religiously following the aftermath, even buying the CD recording of her funeral since I was still in middle school and could not attend in person. (Yes, I am a little obsessed..leave me alone…)

Since I’m not royalty, British, or even caucasian, I knew in my little broken heart that I didn’t stand a chance of being the next Queen of England, but it was very important to me that Prince William chose somebody I deemed worthy. And let’s just say, I love love love Kate Middleton.

She’s gorgeous, elegant, has been with Prince William for years yet never a scandal reported, AND she can wear all sorts of crazy hats without looking gawdy or goofy. Swoon, I may have a girl crush on her.

However, when I started paying attention to The Hills, I noticed an unsettling resemblance…and for years now I have said to everyone I know, “Don’t you think LC looks like Kate Middleton?” Nobody knew what the hell I was talking about til now.

Various news outlets might be noticing now…but I said it first…I think…

Leave a Reply

