Chicken and Mushroom Fettuccini

September 29, 2010 at 2:51 am (Culinary Adventures, Domesticated Diva in Training) (, , , )

I never thought I knew how to cook. When I lived on my own, I was able to feed myself thanks to my ultra-insensitive palate’s “all food is good food” mentality. When asked whether I could cook, I always replied, “Nothing that I would ever serve to anyone aside from me.”  And when invited to dinner parties and/or potlucks, friends could count on me to bring the booze.

It wasn’t until I started dating BF that I began to realize the joy of cooking for someone else, and slowly, with a ton of experimenting in the kitchen, I found that I’m not too shabby at following directions (recipes).

Here’s what I conjoured up last night courtesy of Sandra Lee (with some editing of my own).

Chicken and Mushroom Fettuccini

Makes 4 servings (but BF and I ate it in 2.5 servings)

  • 1 box of fettuccini
  • 1 pound chicken tenderloins
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 (8-ounce) package sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • Garnish: fresh flat leaf parsley
  1. Boil water and add pasta and salt. Trim chicken and cut into one-inch cubes.
  2. In a small bowl, combine 1 tablespoon flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and Italian seasoning: add chicken, tossing to coat.
  3. In a large non-stick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium-high heat. Add chicken, cook, stirring constantly for 4 minutes, or until browned. Remove chicken from pan.
  4. Add remaining 1 tablespoon oil to pan. Add garlic and mushrooms. Cook, stirring often, for 3 minutes or until liquid evaporates and mushrooms soften. Stir in remaining 1 tablespoon flour, dry white wine and chicken broth, scraping brown bits from bottom of pan with a wooden spoon. Cook, stirring constantly for 1 minutes.
  5. Stir in remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cook, stirring frequently, for 1 minute of until slightly thickened. Return chicken to pan. Cover and cook for 2 minutes.
  6. Serve sauce over fettuccini and garnish with fresh flat leaf parsley if desired. (BF did not desire.) Serve immediately.

 Voila! On track to domestication. ♥

5 Comments

  1. Tes said,

    Wow this looks so yummy! The fettuccini looks so perfect. It will be amazing for dinner.
    Thanks for sharing!

    • rosesandwaterfalls said,

      Yay! Thank you! Please let me know how it goes for you!

  2. John said,

    Does anyone know of a good interracial dating site?

  3. Jordan said,

    This looks AMAZING. Definitely want to try it!

    • rosesandwaterfalls said,

      Thanks Jordan! I love your simple, yet yummy recipes too!

Leave a Reply

