More from Eat Pray Love

August 26, 2010 at 4:15 am (Currently reading..., Life happens whether you like it or not) (, )

I’m still in India with Elizabeth Gilbert on her journey to Eat Pray and Love. It usually doesn’t take me this long to read a book, especially one that’s supposed to be a leisure read, but I find myself putting it down every few pages. Most of the time, it’s out of sheer boredom. Ugh…I can’t go on…

But once in awhile it’s because something she said resonates with me, and I have to put the book down, caught deep in my own thoughts…

“When I get lonely these days, I think: So be lonely, Liz. Learn your way around loneliness. Make a map of it. Sit with it, for once in your life. Welcome to the human experience. But never again use another person’s body or emotions as a scratching post for your own unfullfilled yearnings.”

“Last spring David had offered this crazy solution to our woes, only half in jest: “What if we just acknowledged that we have a bad relationship, and we stuck it out, anyway? What if we admitted that we make each other nuts, we fight constatnly and hardly ever have sex, but we can’t live without each other, so we deal with it? And then we could spend our lives together — in misery, but happy to not be apart.” Let it be a testimony to how desperately I love this guy that I have spent the last ten months giving that offer serious consideration.”

“The other alternative in the backs of our minds, of course, was that one of us might change. He might become more open and affectionate, not withholding himself from anyone who loves him on the fear that she will eat his soul. Or I might learn how to…stop trying to eat his soul.”

“I told her how much I loved David, but how lonely and hearsick it made me to be with this person who was always disappearing from the room, from the bed, from the planet.”

“…[Mom] finally showed me the handful of bullets she’d had to bite over the decades in order to stay happily married…I had never imagined what she might have wanted, what she might have been missing, what she might have decided not to fight for in the larger scheme of things.”

But how can I accept that bliss when it comes with this dark underside — bone crushing isolation, corrosive insecurity, insidious resentment and, of course, the complete dismantling of self that inevitable occurs when David ceases to giveth, and commences to taketh away.”

“People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that’s holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life. A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then they leave.”

Yep, these passages made me cry…on the subway.

2 Comments

  1. Sagar Yadav said,

    Loved the opening lines. India caught my attention. Rest well, does not quiet ring a bell.

  2. work from home said,

    Thanks for the information i will go and take a look for it.

Leave a Reply

