Cake in a cup?

July 20, 2010 at 12:13 am (Domesticated Diva in Training) (, , , )

Saw this simple recipe on Oven Haven and needed to try immediately! The only sweets I’ve ever baked are brownies from the box, and no bake chocolate coconut cookies (which technically, didn’t even require baking). This looked easy enough, I recognized all the ingredients, and thought it would be such a cute dessert to serve guests!

Well, I gave it a test run before BF came home, but I must have done something wrong. It was very dry, crumbly, and not chocolately enough. And obviously, my picture does not look like her picture. (Insert sad face here.)

After dinner, I informed BF that I had attempted this dessert, and he exclaimed enthusiatically that he was craving chocolate. I gave him a bite of the one I didn’t finish, he wrinkled his nose, and just like that his craving was gone.

What to do, what to do? What is the ingredient that moistens a cake? Maybe I’ll just add more of that. Or I’m thinking to add chocolate chips next time, perhaps pour half the batter in the mug, add milk chocolate chips, and pour the rest of the batter over it. Maybe it’ll get a sweeter, molten chocolate cake texture?

Need help!

2 Comments

  1. ovenhaven said,

    Hi there, I’ve left a comment for you on my blog 🙂 Judging from the texture of the ‘crust’, you’ve definitely overcooked it, i.e. your microwave’s hotter. I’ve mentioned in the instructions that a skewer inserted should come out with moist crumbs, and I don’t think this would’ve had moist crumbs.

    The easiest way to make it moister is just to reduce the cooking time for your microwave, so you could try nuking it for 1 min 30s on medium the next time 🙂

    • rosesandwaterfalls said,

      Thanks for your quick response! Your site is beautiful (and yummy) and I will definitely attempt to make this again and nuke for a less amount of time. Maybe it’ll be my 4 and a half minute cake in a mug 🙂

Leave a Reply

