Happiness, found between the pages of a book?

June 3, 2010 at 2:37 am (Currently reading...) (, , )

If you’ve been following my blog, you’d know that I had previously harped on about “going through a difficult emotional time.” During that time, I was perusing the shelves at Borders when I came across this book. The title said it all. The Happiness Project. I needed happiness. Cha-ching!

I don’t typically read self-help books, finding them nagging and repetitive. I know all the steps I should be taking, all the signs to watch for, what I should or should not be doing. I didn’t need “experts” to tell me how I should be doing things. I know, I know, I know! I just have a hard time following them. For example, I know if he doesn’t return my calls, he’s just not that into me. But do I still wait for him to call? Of course I do. Or, I know that if I exercise more I’ll be more energetic and if I eat right, I’ll be healthier. These are all DUH’s. But does it make me go to the gym more or cut eating crap? I think not.

But at the time I saw the book, I was desperate to try anything. Plus, this seemed less like a manual and more like a memoir, Eat, Pray, Love style. I immediately ordered it at NYPL and was literally 278th in line. I guess a lot of people were in search for their own happiness too.

Now months later (yeah, it took months for it to inch up slowly in my queue), the book is finally in my lap, but oddly, I’ve lost any enthusiasm to read it. I look at it and realize, I don’t need to sing in the morning, or read Aristotle etc. to be happy. I am happy.

Knowing that if I return the book now, I’ll be behind another couple hundred people again if I change my mind, I decided to give it a shot.

I’m about 50 pages in and all I’ve gotten from it so far is, if I clean my closets, I will have less clutter, but who knows. Nobody’s happy all the time, right? Maybe the next time I reach a slump, I should just clean my closets.

Leave a Reply

