My descent into domestication

February 28, 2010 at 9:42 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

I live in New York City, a city which, according to Time Out New York, has an endless array of things to do. Yet on this perfectly wonderful, unexpected snow day, BF and my brain power combined could not come up with what to do.

We ended up in Curry Hill and had a very satisfying Indian buffet lunch for just $10 each, and when he asked, “So what do you want to do next?” the most exciting thing I could think of was, “Wanna go to the knitting store with me?”

Yes, you heard right. In my attempt to tone down my party girl ways (and oh yes, I have many many party girl stories) and domesticate myself since settling into a calm, healthy relationship with BF, I’ve taken up knitting.

So off we went to Gotta Knit…a knitting store I had randomly found online. I did not know what to expect at all.

I was finishing up my first scarf that was intended for BF, but it turned out too short, too wide, and too purple for him to actually wear. (Though he promised me he would!) I didn’t know how to bind off the yarn from the needles, so I was hoping that yarn store salespeople would kindly show me without charging a fee.

The shop was on the 5th floor of a brownstone building in the Garment District, the kind where someone from the shop had to buzz you up and really easy to miss if you didn’t know the building number. It was small, with colorful yarns lining the walls, and a table in the middle with a bunch of half finished projects strewn across.

The store didn’t have a large collection of yarns, not like some of the pictures I saw online of other knitting shops, nor was it as cheap as I thought yarn would be, but every spool of yarn I picked up was like touching a little baby blanket…alpaca, merino, even cashmere. I fought the urge to rub my face all over the place.

Sure enough, one of the owners, Goldie, showed me how to bind off free of charge after criticizing my handiwork in such a kind manner that it almost didn’t feel like a put down. In the end, she cleverly turned my too short/wide scarf into a practical cowl and picked out a couple more spools of yarn for my next two projects: a brown/beige alpaca/merino yarn for BF’s scarf (this one he will wear) and a baby pink alpaca yarn for my scarf.

I’m most likely going back to take a couple private lessons with Goldie, including how to make a tote with a flower pinned on (felting). Pretty soon, I’ll be able to make my very own ugly Christmas sweaters! In the meantime, anyone want a scarf? Taking orders!

2 Comments

  1. kiwiyarns said,

    I LOVE your cartoon. So funny!! And so true!!

    • rosesandwaterfalls said,

      Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

