My day is better than yours

February 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

I woke up this morning as BF was pulling back the curtains and excitedly exclaiming, “Whoa! Look at that! I didn’t know this happened!”

I sat up to look out the window, and saw that I was sitting in the middle of a snow globe, one that someone had picked up and angrily shaken. The snow falling had no pattern and the land in front of me was pure white. I couldn’t even see the blacktop paths leading up to my building.

BF had already confirmed he was getting a snow day, so he got back into bed as I grew more and more annoyed reading through my Facebook statuses.

“Snow day!”
“Yay! The weekend started early!”
“Costa Rica in T-minus 3 days!” (Screeeeeeeew that! Hrmph!)

I knew there was little to no chance that my company was giving us a snow day. I mean, we worked through fire alarms, power outtages, and every storm that has happened since I started working there a few years ago. Besides, everyone knew I lived not far away. If everyone else was allowed to take off, I was probably still expected to go in. Looked like I was destined to pull on my trusty new rainboots and trudge through the snow to work.

I put my Blackberry back on the nightstand and huffed and puffed for a few minutes when….buuuuuzzzzzzzzz. It rang from a private number.

Lo and behold, it was my company calling, telling me not to come in !since they were closing early! Un-f*cking-believable!!

I hung up, high-fived BF and together, we bounced up and down the bed singing, “I got a snow day, I got a snow day!”

One day when my company profiles me in our company newsletter and asks what my company best moment is, this day is definitely gonna make it to the top of the chart.

Leave a Reply

