Moments of Awe

February 4, 2010 at 2:39 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )

About 2 months ago, I was in the most serious accident I’ve endured in my life. I won’t go into the specifics of the accident, but I was a little devasted. Let’s just say for someone who doesn’t really have acne, was never in a bar brawl (ie have never been punched in the face), and prides myself in looking younger than I actually am, the scars I still have on my face two months later are a bit traumatizing every time I look into the mirror.

The bruising has gone away, the cuts have closed up and the scarring is almost barely visible (still VERY visible to me, especially at night when I shed my makeup), but I am still undergoing treatment to fix my teeth. And everyone knows, I am TERRIFIED of going to the dentist. TERRIFIED.

As the time to my first reconstrucing appointment drew nearer and nearer, I felt myself start to hyperventilate, twitch, and finally, I took several painkillers in advance just in case. (Take one every four hours? I popped three.) I was a nervous wreck.

But as I was walking into Grand Central to take the 6 train (Errands before the appointment took me slightly downtown. I don’t usually come this way.), I saw this:

The landmark, the sunset, the beauty. My nerves calmed, my breathing slowed, and everything felt okay again. My first appointment went smoothly, and hopefully, the rest will be okay as well.

1 Comment

  1. Smile while you still have teeth « Roses and Waterfalls said,

    […] that I had mentioned in an earlier post that I was in an accident awhile ago? Well, after almost six months of painful dental treatments, I […]

Leave a Reply

